Kid’s Book Review: Harper Drew – Talent Show Takeover

Kid’s Book Review: Harper Drew – Talent Show Takeover

About the Book

This is the second book in the comedy series of stories about Harper Drew and friends by author Kathy Weeks. The funny stories are published by Hachette and illustrated in a doodle-style by Aleksei Bitskoff. As you scroll down this post you will see an example of the page design and text layout. Readers who like Tom Gates, Dork Diaries or Diary of a Wimpy Kid will definitely enjoy Harper Drew.

The characters are larger than life, the situation is contemporary, so together with the illustrations Harper Drew is a book that makes reading pleasurable for a lot of children like Ava, whose comments and Q&A with the author you can read below.

 

Harper Drew cover
Kathy Weeks

Before starting work on her children’s fiction series, Kathy Weeks had quite a few jobs. She has worked on the music counter at WH Smith, been an investment banker, a waitress, a property developer, investigated missing millions for The Sultan of Brunei, founded a successful consulting business, worked for HM Treasury restructuring banks, oh….and cooked dinners at a care home for the elderly. But her love of writing was sparked when collaborating on the best-selling children’s non-fiction titles You Are Awesome and Dare to be You with Matthew Syed. Kathy believes that children should all have confidence in their own potential, and not be limited by the beliefs they (or others) hold about themselves.

Aleksei Bitskoff is a British illustrator of children’s books, including the best-selling Louis Sachar Wayside School book series, Little Badman by Humza Arshad and Henry White and Enid Blyton Family book series.

Book Review and Q&A

I loved this book because it was funny and contains good illustrations

If you like reading Dork Diaries or Diary of a Wimpy Kid books, then this is a good choice for you.

I loved this book because it was funny and contains good illustrations. I really enjoyed the storyline too.

Without giving anything away, my favourite character is Harper’s mom, because she is just so dramatic. I think this book is suitable for ages 8+.

Here are five questions I asked the author Kathy Weeks:

1. Why did you choose the name Harper Drew?

I wanted a name that would be relatable to boys and girls.

2. Why did you decide to become an author?

By accident! I wrote something for someone else and it turned out to be (apparently) quite good.

3. How long did it take you to write the book?

About 5 months, but it helps if you already have an idea before you start.

4. What was your favourite subject at school and why?

Maths. Because if you practice it anyone can be really good at it.

5. When you worked at HM Treasury, did you get to meet The Queen?

No but I did meet the Prime Minister and get to advise the Chancellor of the Exchequer..!

 

Page Preview

If you would would like to buy a copy of the book we invite you to order it from your local independent book shop.

Or, by ordering on-line here you are helping to support our Kids Reviews project

Please Buy Here

Alternatively, we suggest that you visit your local library and request to borrow a copy from a friendly librarian.

Whichever you choose we hope you enjoy being part of your unique reading community – happy reading everyone!

Reviewer Profile

Ava young Reviewer
  • Name: Ava
  • Age: 9 years
  • Likes: biking, reading and eating chocolate
  • Dislikes: spiders and soup
  • Favourite Book: Diary of a Wimpy Kid by Jeff Kinney
  • Favourite Film: We Can Be Heroes
  • Favourite Song: Michael Jackson - but I can't choose one song, I love them all!